There’s a lot of interesting talk in the comments on the Library Juice post about the NYT article. Lots about aesthetic expressions and how they do (or don’t) express a significant affiliation to a group or movement (political or otherwise), or whether subcultures/countercultures have been so co-opted by the consumer culture as to have lost much of their meaning…much of which is, frankly, over my head, but I’m fascinated nonetheless. Also, as you could probably guess, there seems to be a bit of a generation clash evident in some of the comments as well.

I’ve put one of the books mentioned, “Nation of Rebels: Why Counterculture Became Consumer Culture” by Joseph Heath and Andrew Potter on my Amazon Wish List so that I don’t forget about it.

Anyway, my post about the NYT article was largely (as you could likely tell) just me whinging about how I don’t like that the information profession (and, really, when it gets down to it, those of my generation within the profession) has been lumped in with the hipper-than-thou. Where I whinge, however, the commenters at Library Juice are really getting into the nitty gritty of it.

 Lots of food for thought. Check it out.

