I’m sure everyone has seen those “You Know You’re from _______ When…” lists. Of course, there are several for Kansas, most of them including unfortunate truisms like:

  • You’ve had classes canceled for heat and snow in the same month
  • You have seen people wear bib overalls to funerals and weddings

Well, this April we had both upper 80 degree temperatures, and then…snow for two days. Also, last weekend I went to a co-worker’s wedding where 14 out of the 100 guests were wearing jeans, and I had a great-uncle who wore bib overalls to every event, wedding, funeral, and in-between, so I can state with certainty that those two are not too far off.

Anyway, when I was making my way to the church (through the gravel parking lot) at my co-worker’s wedding, I thought of one that was equally appropriate:

  • If you’re female, you’ve mastered the art of walking on gravel in heels.

Yup, I’m definitely from Kansas. 🙂

