Leslie Burger, current ALA president, has appointed a library education task force to help her answer this question.

Library school has been a bit of a mixed bag for me, but there have definitely been a lot of great learning experiences during my two years, foremost being the practicum that I’m currently in the middle of. I’m finally getting a chance to put a lot of the theory (which classrooms seem to be pretty heavy on these days) into practice, and it’s been an extremely rewarding experience.

 In my “perfect world” scenario, LIS students would get about a 50/50 mix of theory and practicality, preferably in tandem. It seems, to me at least, that the core theory classes are heavier on theory and lighter on the practical applications related to the theory, and that the practical applications classes don’t necessarily focus on how the theories underlie the practical applications.

However, I’m having a ball in my last semester of school; I’ve made a lot of great, funny, intelligent friends and I feel like I’m beginning to immerse myself in a profession that I love, so it’s hard for me to nitpick too much…

Except to say, there’s always room for improvement. 🙂

