I’m sure some of you will disagree with me about the “non-standard” nature of some of these songs, but, when in doubt, I went with the ones that I have listened to multiple times, over multiple years, and still bear multiple listenings. 

 When possible, I’ve included video links, and noted this below.

1. Fairytale of New York – The Pogues feat. Kristy MacColl. (video link; music video)

2. Father Christmas – The Kinks (video link; live performance)

3. Christmas Wrapping – The Waitresses (wikipedia link)

4. Santa Baby – Eartha Kitt (video link; music video)

5. Latke Clan – The LeeVees (video link; live performance)

6. Christmas in Hollis – Run D.M.C. (video link; music video)

7. (Everybody’s Waiting For) the Man with the Bag – Kay Starr

8. All I Want for Christmas is You – Olivia Olson (video link; clip from Love Actually)

9. Merry Christmas, Baby – Otis Redding

10. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen – Barenaked Ladies feat. Sarah McLachlan

  Honorable mentions:

11) Merry Christmas – The Ramones

12) Come On! Let’s Boogie to the Elf Dance – Sufjan Stevens

Happy Holidays, y’all! Enjoy the rampant consumerism…I know I will!

