So, as I posted more than a few months ago, I took a position as the Project Archivist for Athletics and Recreation at the University of Denver in September 2007. I accepted the position because I could instinctively tell that I would be working with one of the most knowledgeable and enthusiastic archivists in the biz, Greg Colati, as well as a senior administrator in the Division of Athletics and Recreation who was passionately committed to the success of the project. I have to say, my experience with the job has been everything I hoped for and then some. The only real issue with the job was that it was a year-long position.

I’m happy to announce that, between my hiring as project archivist and now, I’ve been appointed Interim Archives Processing Librarian. The gist of this is that I have a chance, between now and when a national search is completed, to supervise all of special collections processing for the University of Denver. In addition to being a fantastic opportunity, I also get to participate in what I believe to be a pretty revolutionary re-structuring…archives processing will move underneath the administrative umbrella of the library’s Technical Services unit.

I’ve been “on the job” for about a week and a half now, so I don’t really have a lot to report on yet, but I hope to soon…and I hope to do so a lot more regularly than I have been for the past year!

