Lots of things have happened in the past few weeks:

  • I got my first professional archivist job in Colorado (see below post)
  • I found a house in Colorado (see Flickr pics…and picture it without the rasta flag and other college paraphernalia)
  • I had my last day at the office where I have worked (in a non-archival capacity) since 2003

But, the most momentous of all….

I am finally the proud owner of both a 15″MacBook Pro and an iPod nano! I have to confess, there was a subsidy in the case of the MacBook, but my PC was starting to make me a little nervous (I got the blue screen of death a few times) and I was really sick of being yoked to my desk at home. The nano, well, I couldn’t resist, and I’m glad I didn’t. My trips to Colorado for both the job interview and the house-hunting were relatively stress-free, and I think it was largely due to the Ella at my fingertips.

I will be traveling to the Society of American Archivists conference tomorrow, where I’ll be attending the DACS (Describing Archives: A Content Standard), Managing the Digital University Desktop, Advanced Electronic Records Management, and Digitization Matters workshops, in addition to the annual meeting. I am pretty darn psyched.

Also, as far as I can tell, the “Blogger Get-Together” (which, incidentally, is not just for the bloggers, but for anyone involved in making the annual meeting more “2.0”…Flickr taggers, wiki creators, etc.) will be held on Thursday at lunch, exact times and locations TBA. This is probably one of the only chances I’ll get to meet some of the other archival bloggers/wiki-creators, etc. out there, so I hope everyone who’s there and who even sort of fits this description will come.

Be forewarned, I’ll probably take pictures. :)

